About Us

The Seychelles Licensing Authority (SLA) was established in September 1984 and it is an Authority under the portfolio of the Ministry responsible for Finance. The role of SLA has evolved over the years in line with the political and economic reforms which have taken place in the country. This was considered as another vital and important step in the Government’s endeavor to improve the business climate in Seychelles.

The Licences Act, 2010 gives powers to the Seychelles Licensing Authority to:

  • Grant;
  • Renew;
  • Refuse;
  • Suspend or revoke licences; and
  • Attach or vary conditions of a licence.

SLA has five branches situated in various locations on Mahe, Praslin and La Digue as follows:

  1. Head Office at Orion Mall, Victoria
  2. Vehicle Testing Station, Bois de Rose
  3. Green Corner Building, Providence
  4. Horizon Complex, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin
  5. District Administration, La Passe, La Digue

The Authority is managed by a Board which consists of seven members from both the private and public sector. The daily administration, supervision and control over the affairs of the Authority lies within the responsibilities of the Chief Executive Officer. There is also a Deputy Chief Executive Officer who discharges the functions of the CEO during the absence of the CEO and performs any other duties as may be assigned by the CEO or the SLA Board.

Additionally, there is an SLA Appeals Board to hear and determine appeals against the decisions of the Authority.